Primary School track and field athletes showcased

The Grand Bahama Primary Schools Athletic Association 2016 Primary School Island Track and Field Championships got underway yesterday morning with heats in the 4×400 meters relays. (PHOTO: SHAYNE STUBBS)

The 2016 Grand Bahama Primary Schools Athletic Association BTC-/Domino’s Primary School All Island Track and Field Championships commenced Tuesday morning at the Grand Bahama Sports Complex and will run until Friday, April 22.

The opening ceremonies will be held at the Complex at 12:00 p.m. today when CARIFTA track and field athlete Brianne Bethel of Sunland Baptist Academy will be the guest speaker.

The theme for this year’s championships is “Come run, jump, and throw with tomorrow’s star athletes.”

The Primary School Championships are in honor of former principals Mrs. Mary Russell and Mrs. Victoria Wright.

Day one featured the 4x400m heats in the girls and boys under 11 and under 13 divisions; ball throw for the under nine and under 10 boys and girls; long jump in the under nine, under 11 and under 13 boys and girls divisions; high jump for the under 11 and 13 boys and girls; and long jump for the under nine and under 13 boys and girls. The Under 13 boys and girls shot put also took place.

Vice President of the GBPSAA Ravanno Ferguson said at the press conference held Monday afternoon that everyone should expect four days of exciting track and field.

“It will be four days of excitement, track and field, jumps, throwing. We just want to encourage the wider community to come out and support this event.”

The defending champions of the Big School Division (schools with 250 students) are the Hugh Campbell Hornets. The reigning champs of the Small School Champions (schools with 140-250 students) are the Martin Town Primary Knights and the Lewis Yard Primary School Eagles are the defending Little School champions (schools with 150 or less students).

The floating trophy in the Big School’s division will be given out in honor of the late Sandra Edgecombe, the Small Schools trophy will be issued in honor of Mary Cooper, District Superintendent of the Ministry of Education and the Little School trophy will be in honor of Dr. Cecile Thompson.

The Big Schools division consists of the Hornets, Maurice Moore Racoons, Freeport Primary Conquerors and the Walter Parker Pacers. Small Schools division includes the Bishop Michael Eldon Warriors, Sunland Baptist Academy Stingers, Freeport Gospel Chapel Eagles, Mary, Star of the Sea Crusaders, Martin Town Primary Knights and the Bartlett Hill Primary Invaders. In the Little Schools division are West End Primary, Grace Bible, East End Primary, St. Paul’s Saints, Freeport Bible, Lewis Yard Primary, Holmes Rock Primary, Grand Bahama Academy, Lucaya International, Hampton Academy and Alpha Omega Christian School.

Former Martin Town Primary Principal Russell expressed appreciation in being honored.

“I certainly deem it an honor and a privilege to be honored in this vein. And I see myself as providing opportunities as the former principal of Martin Town Primary School for the athletes there to participate in sporting activities. I remember there was a time the children did not have uniforms or have lunch money or bus money and I provided the opportunity for the children to go and participate in the sporting activities. Also many of the children who took part in the sporting activities have acquired scholarships and so I see Golden Boys and Golden Girls out of the Martin Town Primary School. And, I would certainly like to extend my gratitude to the committee and the Grand Bahama Primary Schools Athletic Association for bestowing this honor upon me,” she expressed.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This