Falcons sweep GBSSAA BIG THREE Basketball Tournament

The past Falcons (blue) and current Falcons (white) went head-to-head this past Monday night at the YMCA. Both teams got together for a group shot at the end of the exhibition. (PHOTOS COURTESY OF OSWALD SIMMONS)

Former Falcons took on present day Falcons in friendly exhibition.

It was quite a day this past Monday for the Tabernacle Baptist Christian Academy Falcons.

It was a day the perennial basketball powerhouse reigned supreme in three divisions of a Grand Bahama Secondary School Athletic Association original and then later witnessed a “blast from the past” taking on their present and fast rising high school basketball starts.

The under 13 boys and girls and under 15 boys ran away with three championships at the close of the GBSSAA Big Three Basketball Classic: named after former players and close friends Franco Miller Sr. Scott Forbes and Quinton “3oz” Hall.

In the under 13 girls’ championship encounter the Falcons got the better of the Jack Hayward Junior Stars at the YMCA Gymnasium, 23-11. Cassidra Thompson had the hot hand for the Falcons and poured in 13 points on her way to Most Valuable Player Honors. The Mary, Star of the Sea Crusaders were the third place runners-up.

Next, the Falcons dominated the under 13 boys’ championship tilt with the Stars. As they controlled the pace from start to finish, the Falcons eventually rolled to a 29-7. Jaret Hall was named the MVP. The Sunland Baptist Christian Academy Stingers were the third place runner-ups in that division after they fell to the Stars in the semifinals.

The final contest of the day was a nail biter as the Falcons and Stars faced off once more. This time, it was for the boys’ under 15 championship. Extra time was needed in this one as the juniors left all on the floor of the YMCA.

Nonetheless the Falcons got by with a narrow 33-29 victory. Romad Dean led the Falcons with 17 points and was named the MVP. The Eight Mile Rock Blue Jays won the third place game over the St. George’s Jaguars, 29-27.

Quincy Gray was the head coach for all three Falcons teams.

Later that evening at the YMCA it was the Battle of the Falcons, as former Falcons’ players faced off against the present day Falcons senior boys team. In the end the former Falcons outlasted the present Falcons 55-46. Nathan Bain led the former Falcons with 10 points, while Shyrone Kemp led the present Falcons with eight points. Both received MVP honors.

Darrin Rolle coached the former Falcons team of Bain, Garth Brown, Travis Wildgoose, Astin Lewis, Amard Pratt, Raymond Higgs, Lucianno Bartlett, Anton Thompson, Condell Delancy and Katano Moss.

Gray spearheaded the current team of Kemp, Franco Miller Jr, Desmond Butler, Regis Cooper, Alfredo Brown, Seandre Todd, Shermell Greene, Stephon Knowles, Michael Williams and Erqauntae Edgecombe.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This