2018 GBPA Conchman Triathlon winners crowned

OLYMPIC WINNERS – Sylvia Bateman, second left, Jason Costelloe, third left, and Simon Towend, first right were the recipients of round-trip tickets courtesy of Bahamas Paradise Cruise Line for their performances in the 2018 GBPA Conchman Triathlon held at Taino Beach. Bateman won the female Olympic Distance category, while Costelloe took first place for the males in the Male Olympic Distance. Towend came in second amongst the males in the contest. Also pictured first left is Rod Purvis, Conchman Committee member John Bradley, center, and Conchman Committee Chairman Christopher Bakers, second right. (PHOTOS: SHAYNE STUBBS)

The downpour this past Saturday morning did not put a damper on the 2018 Grand Bahama Port Authority (GBPA) Conchman Triathlon. 

The competition proceeded as planned as competitors out Grand Bahama, New Providence and around the world competed to see who would be top Olympic, Sprint, Sprint Relay, IronKids and Secondary School Champions of this year’s triathlon, once again staged at Taino Beach. 

Winning the top prize in the men’s Olympic category - a round-trip ticket courtesy of Bahamas Paradise Cruise - was Jason Costelloe. The visitor out of Trinidad and Tobago finished the swim, bike ride and road race in a cumulative time of two hours, 24 minutes and 42 seconds (2:24:42). Simon Towend finished in second place with a time of 2:43:56. He too was also awarded a round-trip ticket courtesy of the Cruise line. Nicolas Blaser rounded out the top-three with a time of 2:45:58.

The sole competitor in the women’s Olympic race was Syliva Bateman. The women’s Olympic champion completed the course in the time of 2:58.52.

The men’s individual sprint was ultra competitive among the field of 33 competitors. However, it was New Providence’s Simon Lowe who went on to complete the course in a time of 1:16:35. Sean Farrington followed in second place in a time of 1:21.19. Third place went to Jake Fox, who finished closely behind Farrington in a time of 1:22.48. 

The women’s individual sprint title went to Wima Stefanutti who completed the sprint course in a time of 1:32.04. Triathlon veteran Vicki Stafford came across the line to finish in second place and was clocked at 1:33.25. The bronze was won by Tatiana Christie as she finished the race in a time of 1:33.49. 

The sprint relay competition featured divisions such as men, women, corporate men, corporate mixed, family and the secondary schools. 

The overall sprint relay champions and corporate men’s relay champions were none other the Sanitation Services (Keilan Rolle, Anthony Colebrooke, and Keithrel Hanna). The trio registered a time of 1:11:04.

Winning the men’s sprint relay was team K’D’ - which consisted of Kenton Roker, Darren Roker and Delroy Booth. The team turned in a first place time of 1:14:38. Second place in the men’s division went to Red Lightning (Kelon Rolle, Ricardo Major and Donald Laing) who finished in 1:18:59. Third place was awarded to Simply Awesome (Mark Davies and Clifford Bowe). The duo turned in a time of 1:19:39.

The female sprint relay champions were none other than Chasing Bottles (Kadesha Culmer, Heather Grant-Bruey and Pearline Ingraham). The team finished in a time of 1:35:18. Second place went to the Wubble Bubbles (Arriel Quant, Elle O’Brien and Lila Cafferata) who clocked a time of 1:52:19. Just for Fun (Kalliope Vardoulis and Janeka Edey) took third place and turned in a time of 2:20:20. 

The mixed sprint relay championship was awarded to Functional Fitness Bahamas (Stacey Bradley, Keith Major, and Ryan Penn) who clocked a time of 1:27:29. Second place in that division went to Conchers and Bonkers (Ina Leblanc, Philip Page, and Cyril Williamson) who turned in a time of 1:28:52. Third place was won by Family Ties (Huden Hall, Gary Gardiner, and Clarita Hall) who turned in a time of 1:46:17). 

The corporate mixed championship was won by team Pharmachem Two (Steffanuti, Fernando Penabad and Michael Cooper). The trio clocked a time of 1:26:31. The Chemist Trio (Aldo Rancier, Mano Villa, and Sanela Mutka) took second place in 1:31:41. Pharmachem One (Jordan Crandall, David Culshaw and Courtney Cunningham) rounded out the top three with a time of 1:36:43. 

The family sprint relay championship went home with The Smiths (Christopher Smith, Kyle Smith, and Denise Smith) who turned in a time of 1:37:09. The Hunts (Michelle Hunt and Paul Hunt) left Taino Beach in second place with a time of 1:37:14. The Alnebeck Family (Annabel Purvis, Magnus Alnebeck, and Elsa Alnebeck) finished in third place in a time of 1:40:17. 

Finally, the secondary school’s championship was won by Lucaya International - The Breezy Ones (Ocean Smith, Nathan Wright, and Charlie Sykes) The trio completed the relay in a time of 1:24:21. Second place was also won by Lucaya International - Anonymous (Katelyn Cabral, Christofor Castro, and Martin Albury) who turned a time of 1:29:58. Third place went to Sunland Baptist Academy - Abraham (Nigel Forbes, Eudancel Mcphee, and Akilaya Lightbourne) who registered a time of 1:47.09.) 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This