Third Annual Scholar Athlete of the Year nominees in the high school girls’ category announced

Grand Bahama Sports and Travel announced the names of the 40 finalists for the 2017 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, which will honor the top student athletes from both the primary and high schools as the best and the brightest for their accomplishments as students and athletes.


“Grand Bahama Sports and Travel continues to grow and excel, and their work this year has allowed us to identify these 40 exceptional scholar athletes, who have clearly established themselves among the best in the country,” said GBST President and CEO, Buster Laing.


“It will be a difficult task to select one from each division as the absolute best. Each possesses incredible talent in all facets of their lives, and it is a tremendous honor for us to highlight their accomplishments.”


The centrepiece of their efforts is the Annual Scholarship and Awards ceremony, which recognizes more than 120 of the top scholar athletes and distributes more than $7,000 in scholarships.


From this pool of 40 scholar athletes, the committee will select four overall winners from both the high and primary schools for the highly sought- after Scholar Athlete Awards.


First bestowed in 2014, the GBST Scholar Athlete Awards has become one of the most prestigious scholastic honors on Grand Bahama. Criteria for the award is limited to academic achievement and athletic accolades.


Additionally, Grand Bahama Sports and Travel has already announced that it will be awarding the Mark Wilson Dedication Award to the outstanding coach. Wilson, who died late last year in a traffic accident was the first Committee Chairperson of the Scholar Athlete of the Year Program.


The show will be begin on Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. from Bahamas Union of Teachers Hall, Wildcat Avenue.


Here are the nominees for the the 2017 Scholar Athlete of the Year Award nominees in the high school girls’ category.


Chloe Stuart, 

Eight Mile Rock


Altavia Hall, 

Tabernacle Baptist


Duranique Lightbourne, 

Jack Hayward


Quanisha Marshall, 

Bishop Michael


Carlie McBrayer, 

Lucaya International


Alexzandra Austin, 

Sunland Baptist


Lezlia Jones, 

St. Georges


Published  Friday, March 3, 2017 


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This