FOCOL beats Gouthro & Company on countback to win second annual Edward St. George Memorial

NEW CHAMPIONS – FOCOL came away as the top winners of the 2nd Annual Edward St. George Memorial Golf Tournament this Saturday. Holding the trophies left to right were Otto Fountain, Randy Cooper, Gizmo Moss and Tony Cooper. Grand Bahama Sport Promotion Association president Fred Sturrup, left, made the presentations. PHOTO COURTESY OF BTC)

Fifteen teams, totaling 60 players showed up in full force for the second annual Edward St. George Memorial Golf Tournament this past Saturday at the Lucayan Country Club Course. The Grand Bahama Sports Promotion Association was praised for staging the event which was well-received.

Gouthro & Company (G&C), which featured the team of Sean Donahue, Chris Gouthro, Gaston Lampron and Domonic Wilson looked like the favorites to retain their crown atop of the field. However, it came down to two other teams giving them a strong run for it.

The Freeport Oil Company (FOCOL) finished the day tied with G&C at 122 apiece. On a count-back, the FOCOL players were declared the victor and new champions of the 2017 edition of the memorial tournament. FOCOL was represented by Otto Fountain, Randy Cooper, Tony Cooper and Gizmo Moss.

This daily caught up with Moss and Tony Cooper after the victory. On behalf of the four-man squad, Moss said the team felt confident in their respective games when it came time to approach the tee.

“We felt pretty good. We felt good with the swings and everything came together. We played good as a team. It was pretty windy out there but we weathered the storm and played well.”

To come away with the championship in their second year playing on the FOCOL ticket meant a lot to the group. As to the impact of the tournament for golf in Grand Bahama, Cooper said “a tournament like this can do a lot in getting others interested.”

“It does a lot because it gets a lot more people interested and then hopefully some of the younger persons will come out to see how golf is played and they’ll begin to like it and hopefully they’ll start playing more.”

After coming up short in last year’s tournament, Cooper furthered that they had added motivation to come out of this tournament as the top team.

“We played real hard last year but we came up short. And we really wanted to do it for the sponsors this year because they’ve always been good to us in terms of the sponsorship and we’re just happy to bring this trophy home.”

While G&C were left to settle for second place, third place went to Grand Bahama Port Authority (GBPA) Team A. The team of Rupert Hayward, James Beaumont, Rob Speller and Brad Culmer played to a collective score of 123.

The flagship sponsor of the tournament, BTC, finished in the top five. The team of Hansel Collie Broderick Pinder, Philip Pinder and Ricardo Lightbourne also played to a score of 123 but was given fourth place on a count-back.

Buckeye rounded out the top field of five. The team of Gregory Cooper, Hanford Bain, Leroy Laing, and Ryan Herry all finished with a score of 127.

Finishing in sixth place was the team of Jimmy Sands, Bob Davies, Ray Bridges and Donnie Roberts. They represented the Bahamian Brewery and finished with a score of 128. The team of Wolfgang Geiger, Kor Doman, Steve Wilson and Hannes Babak represented ABC Construction and finished with a score of 129, in seventh place.

FML finished in eighth place with a score of 130 and were represented by Craig Flowers, Allan Gardiner, Ambrose Gouthoro, and Bill Williams. Royal Star followed up in ninth place with a combined score of 131. Rod Purvis, Martin Brent, Peter Muscroft and Kirk Antoni were the team members.

The Bahamas Golf Federation finished in 10th place with a score of 133. Marvin Bethel, Glen Archer, Lyford Miller and Eustan Forbes represented the country’s parent organization for the sport of golf. Wleventhth place went to the Lyford Cay team of Craig Symonette, Vernon Well, Douglas Cowper and Jim Wilson; who shot a collective score of 136.

The Grand Lucayan team of Louis Missick, Ken Basden, Greg Maycock, Lou Parker finished 12th in the standings with a score of 142.

GB Power Company and GBPA Team B both finished with a score of 143 in a tie for 13th. Freddy Bowe, Brian Cooper, Tony Lopez, and Archie Collins were the team members who represented GB Power. GBPA Team B was powered by Brenford Christie, Jimmey Delance, Fred Smith and Delano Mortimer.

Rounding out the field of 15 was the Ministry of Tourism which finished with a score of 175. Anya Hanna, Andre Cartwright, Dania Forbes and Carmel Churchill were the MOT’s team members.

Four closest to the pin awards were also presented. Chris Gouthoro was closest to the pin on hole four; Leroy Laing was closest to the pin on hole eight; Vernon Wells was the closest to the pin on hole 14; and Greg Bowe came closest to the pin on hole 17.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This