HASB Honours 2019 set for Sept. 29

HASB HONOREES from top left Dr. Eric Brown, Afrika Karamo-Miller, Dr. Shailesh Hedge, Jeanine Baillou and Anthony Miller. From bottom left Deacon Jeff Hollingsworth, Morris and Michelle Simmons, Nina Winters, Rengin Johnson.

It is official, a list of distinguished men and women have been named to receive the 2019 HIV/AIDS Survivors Benefit (HASB) Grand Bahama Honorees Award.

Dr. Eric Brown, MD; businessman Anthony ‘Tony’ Miller; Magistrate Rengin Johnson, Deacon Jeff Hollingsworth; business owners Morris and Michelle Simmons; Dr. Shailesh Hegde, medical doctor at the Rand Memorial; Afrika Miller-Karamo, educator and President of the Grand Bahama AIDS Awareness Committee (GBAAC); Jeanine Baillou, public relations officer at the Rand Memorial Hospital and Rotarian Nina ‘Minna’ Winters, will all be honoured for their contributions in the education and fight against HIV/AIDS.

This year, again, the honours ceremony will be held at the Pelican Bay Resort on September 29 beginning at 7:00 p.m.

While the event is by invitation only, HASB Founder Kevin Thompson-Delancy, JP, Esq., said that a number of overseas guests are expected to be in attendance.

“We are proud to announce the 2019 HASB honorees. These persons would have gone beyond in their support of the organization and its programmes,” said Thompson-Delancy. “We are pleased to have selected a group of outstanding citizens in Grand Bahama, who have given of their time and finances to ensure that HASB continues to touch lives and bring hope.”

Thompson-Delancy reiterated that the ceremony and cocktail reception will be held September 29, 2019 at Pelican Bay Resort.

“It is indeed an honour on behalf of our president, Tina Roberts and the Executive Board to pay tribute to these fine men and women. We are excited about this year’s HASB Honours. This is a time that the HASB Committee, along sponsors in GB and our friends from abroad, namely the AIDS Healthcare Foundation (AHF), come together to show our appreciation and respect to persons who have gone above and beyond in supporting our organization in the fight against HIV and AIDS.

“Not only in supporting our organization, but persons in the medical field who have given their time, service and who have gone beyond the call of duty.

“We want to celebrate those that have given so much of their time, who have stood with us, some who have done it in silence, some who didn’t even want to be recognized,” said Thompson-Delancy.

Last year, 2018, honorees included – Sarah St. George, GB Port Authority Vice Chairman; Fred Sturrup, GM and Managing Editor of The Freeport News; Dr. Alfred and Nurse Vivian Brathwaite; former Minister of Tourism Obie Wilchcombe; GBHS Administrator Sharon Williams and Evelyn Lightbourne.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This