Primary School Girls Nominees Named For 3rd Annual Scholar Athlete of the year awards

Primary School Girls Nominees Named

Grand Bahama Sports and Travel has announced the names of the 40 finalists for the 2017 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, which will honour the top student athletes from both the primary and high schools as the best and the brightest for their accomplishments as students and athletes.

“Grand Bahama Sports and Travel continues to grow and excel, and their work this year has allowed us to identify these 40 exceptional scholar-athletes who have clearly established themselves among the best in the country,” said GBST President and  CEO Buster Laing.

“It will be a difficult task to select one from each division as the absolute best. Each possesses incredible talent in all facets of their lives, and it is a tremendous honour for us to highlight their accomplishments.”

The centrepiece of their efforts are the annual scholarship and awards ceremony, which recognizes more than 120 of the top scholar-athletes and distributes more than $7,000 in scholarships.

From this pool of 40 scholar-athletes, the committee will select four overall winners from both the high and primary schools for the highly sought-after Scholar-Athlete Awards.

First bestowed in 2014, the GBST Scholar-Athlete Awards has become one of the most prestigious scholastic honours on Grand Bahama. Criteria for the award are limited to academic achievement and athletic accolades.

Additionally, Grand Bahama Sports and Travel has already announced that they will be awarding the Mark Wilson Dedication Award to the outstanding coach. Wilson, who died late last year in a traffic accident was the first Committee chairperson of the Scholar Athlete of the Year Program.

The show will be begin on Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. at Bahamas Union of Teachers Hall, Wildcat Avenue.

Here is the full list of the 2017 Primary School Girls Scholar Athlete of the Year Award nominees:



Imara Nesbitt, Bishop Michael

Quen’Thaya Moore, Tabernacle Baptist

Reginae Bastian, Sunland Baptist

Wilna Toussaint, Lewis Yard

Precious Alcide, Freeport Primary

Chelsea Poitier, Freeport Gospel

Prisca Smith, Maurice Moore

Phoebe Wilson, Lucaya International

Ciara Williams, Walter Parker

Taynisha Jones, Bartlett Hill

Genesis Thompson, Martín Town

Kenya Christie, West End

Christia McKenzie, Holmes Rock


Published Friday, March, 17, 2017

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This