Five Jaguars lead Senior Boys’ National All-Tournament Team

The second annual Bahamas National High School Basketball Championships culminated earlier this month. Five Jaguars lead Senior Boys’ National All-Tournament Team.

The second annual Bahamas National High School Basketball Championships culminated earlier this month.

The St. Georges’ Jaguars rallied and came away as national champions on March 6 at the St. Georges’ Gymnasium. Their win came at the expense of the number one seeded Tabernacle Falcons by the score of 61-53.

The senior boys’ All-Tournament team was later revealed and five Jaguars led the 12-member team.

The tournament’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) Howard Hinzey led the list after his 16-point, 13-rebound performance in the national championship tilt. Also named to that list were teammates Mateo King, Davonte Jennings, Ahmad Harvey and Kyle Smith.

Domini Bridgewater (Anatol Rodgers), Franco Miller (Tabernacle), Justin Burrows (St. Augustine’s), Adam Johnson (Jordan Prince William), Kenneth Johnson (Teleos), Delano Dean (Eight Mile Rock) and AcKeem Hanna (Jack Hayward) rounded out the field.

Bridgewater led all scorers during the Bahamas Basketball Federation/Ministry of Education hosted tournament. Bridgewater finished with an average 17 points per game. Bridgewater led the charge for the Timberwolves defensively. The guard led the tournament in steals with 4.33 per game.

Although the SAC Big Red Machine saw an early exit from the tournament, Burrows was a man on a mission when it came to rebounding. He was the tournament’s leading rebounder with an average of 10.5 boards per contest. 

Johnson led Prince William and the tournament in blocked shots. Johnson turned players away consistently with an average of four blocks per game.  

King led the tournament in made threes with 18 three-pointers.

The top player in the senior girls’ division was none other than Latavia Brennen of the CI Gibson Rattlers. She averaged 18 points per game for the Rattlers. She was also the leading rebounder with 18 boards per game.

Doris Johnson’s Thyrell Thompson led the tournament in the assists department with 2.6 per contest. Paula Greene of the Bishop Michael Eldon Warriors was the lead shot blocker with four per game. Delilah Rigby was the lead-steal getter with 5.67 per game. Mya Green of the Tabernacle Falcons led the tournament in made threes with 10.

Bradley Lightbourne of the Gateway Eagles led the Family Island Division as the MVP. He was also the top guy in steals with four steals per game.  Menalich Smith of Sount Andros led the tournament in scoring with 16ppg. 

Collin Storr out of San Salvador was the leading rebounder for the Family Island Division with 10 boards per game. Dwayne Bullard of Central Eleuthera led the Family Island teams with 1.75 blocker per night and Dremeko McIntosh of Abaco Central led the tournament in assists with 2.6 per night.


Published Friday, March, 17, 2017

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This