UB dorms expected to house 88 students

Hon. Dr. Michael Darville

Minister for Grand Bahama Dr. Michael Darville said that for the first time ever, there would be persons outside of Grand Bahama coming to the island to complete courses at the University of The Bahamas (UB).  


Darville made this statement during a recent tour with Heads of Government Departments of the new dormitories site at the Northern Campus in East Grand Bahama. 


The “modular technology” construction is underway and the design will consist of 14 dormitories that will house 88 students, a cafeteria, offices and a health clinic on the existing property.

Revealing that the Grand Bahama Port Authority (GBPA) donated the dorms, Darville said that as part of the 1993 agreement with the government, the GBPA initially committed to investing $3m for a new school in the Heritage Subdivision. However, he noted, it was agreed by the GBPA, along with the government to invest it in the dormitories for the University of The Bahamas’ Northern Campus.


The minister disclosed that the government will be requesting additional land to further develop the campus in Grand Bahama.


“This particular asset will allow university students from Abaco and other parts of The Bahamas, who need to have accommodations, to be living at this particular location,” he said. 


Darville added that this is just the first phase, because there are other things on board for further expansion. 


“The whole compound has acres of land and one of the things you would see is that the land had to be built up and we intend to continue to build the land up, so that the area would be protected from any flood zones,” he said.


Darville noted that this is one of the sites in East Grand Bahama, where multi-million dollar investments are going on.  


He said that the dorms were much needed and was constructed based on a very unique modular design.  


An Act of Parliament of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas chartered University of The Bahamas (UB) on November 10, 2016.  


UB had its genesis in the College of The Bahamas, which came into effect in 1974 through the amalgamation of four institutions: The Bahamas Teachers’ College, San Salvador Teachers’ College, C.R. Walker Technical College and the sixth form program of the Government High School.


A technical team appointed to work along with the Law Reform Commission of the Office of the Attorney General drafted the University of The Bahamas Bill, which was passed by the House of Assembly and the Senate in the summer of 2016.


The University Act includes all governance core-requirements for international accreditation. Also, shared governance and academic freedom, the basic tenets of higher education institutions, are assured within the new governance structure. 


With the establishment of an Academic Senate, the faculty assumes greater responsibility for the academic affairs of the University.


On 25 August 2016, Jerome K. Fitzgerald, Minister of Education, Science and Technology, announced that the College of The Bahamas would transition into the University of The Bahamas on November 10, 2016, the university’s Charter Day. 


Published  Wednesday, April 12, 2017 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This